This article explains when and how to remove (delete) an employee. Removing an employee is a serious step and should only be done in certain situations.

When to Remove an Employee

May I remove an employee that was accidentally entered twice?
Yes. If their Person Information was entered twice (as though they were two different people). Follow the steps below under “How to Remove an Employee”.

When an employee leaves should they be removed?
No. You’ll need their employment records for at least several years for tax reasons, reporting purposes, etc. Instead, you should change their Work History Status to terminated, laid off, or any status other than “Currently Employed”. You may also wish to mark them as a “Hidden” on the Employee Information screen.

May I remove an employee that has been gone for several years and I no longer need their information?
Yes, although you may wish to print hard copies (or PDF versions) of certain reports, if you have not already done so, such as time card reports, payroll information, etc..

How to Remove an Employee

  1. Look Up the Employee.
  2. Click the Remove Employee icon (person with an X through it) on the toolbar.
  3. A list of items that must first be removed is displayed.
    1. If each item has a green check mark you may click Remove and the employee will be deleted.
    2. If any items have a red X, those items must first be removed one at a time including:

Remove People who were on the Account

When you remove an employee the Person Information (name, address, phone, etc.) for them and any related people (spouse, child, emergency contacts, etc.) still exists in the database. If those people are no longer assigned to an account (or anywhere else in Procare) you may completely remove them using the Unassigned People utility.

 

image_pdfimage_print