Learn how to send a message that will appear at a check-in computer when a person checks in.

Before You Begin

In order for families to see messages when they check children in you must enable messages.

  1. Go to the Check-In Options screen.
  2. Click the Family Data button (upper right).
  3. Check the Display Messages box.
    Note: Once messages are enabled they become mandatory. In other words each pick up person must review their messages before they can complete the check-in process.

Sending Messages

There are several ways to get to the message screen in order to create new messages.

Families
Send a messages to many families at once:

  1. From the main screen of Family Data & Accounting click Functions > Attendance Tracker > Messages.
  2. At the Message History screen you’ll see all existing messages.  Click New to add a New Message.

Send a message to a particular person in a family (parent or other authorized pick up person):

  1. Look Up a Family.
  2. Select a child to whom the person is assigned as an authorized pickup and click the Information & Relationships icon on the child toolbar.icon-child-info-relationships
  3. Dbl-click the name of the person to open their Person Information screen.
  4. Click the Message button.
    Hint: To send a message to a parent you may dbl-click their name directly at the main screen of Family Data & Accounting.

Employees
Send a messages to many employees at once:

  1. From the main screen of Employee Data & Payroll click Functions > Messages.
  2. At the Message History screen you’ll see all existing messages. Click New to add a New Message.

Send a message to a particular employee:

  1. Look Up an Employee.
  2. Click the Information & Relationships icon on the employee toolbar.icon-child-info-relationships
  3. Dbl-click the name of the person to open their Person Information screen.
  4. Click the Message button.

Message Screen

At the message screen create a new message as follows:

  1. Select the “Type of Message” to specify who will see the message.
    Family Options

      1. Person: click Select People and choose people to receive the message. The current person may already be selected. If so use Select People to add more people to the list.
      2. Classroom: click Select Classroom and choose the classroom(s).
      3. Tracking Items: click Select Tracking and choose the desired tracking item(s).
      4. Current Balance: enter an amount.

    1. Everyone: message goes to all pick up people.

    Employee Options

    1. Employee: click Select Employees and choose people to receive the message. The current person may already be selected. If so use Select People to add more people to the list.
    2. Primary Work Area: click Select Work Areas and make your selections.
    3. Tracking: click Select Tracking and choose the desired tracking items.
    4. Everyone: message goes to all employees.
  2. Choose Start and End dates during which the message will run.
    1. Show Once: will display the message one time to each person.
    2. Show Always: will display the message each time a person checks in or out during the specified dates.
  3. Type your message in the large white box.
  4. Click Save > Exit.
    Hint: Click the Views button to display who has seen the message.

Delete Message

To delete a message go to the Message History screen, click once to select the message, then click the Delete button.

image_pdfimage_print