This article explains when and how to remove (delete) a vendor. Removing a vendor is a serious step and should only be done in certain situations.
When to Remove a Vendor
May I remove a vendor that was accidentally entered twice?
Yes. If no checks were posted to the duplicate vendor they may be removed. Another option, especially if checks were recorded under both vendors, is to use Merge Vendors to combined them.
When I stop using a vendor / supplier should they be removed?
No. You’ll need the financial records connected to that vendor for at least several years for tax reasons, reporting purposes, etc. Instead, you could mark them as a “Hidden” on the Edit Vendor screen.
May I remove a vendor that I have not used for several years when I no longer need their information?
Yes. You may wish to print hard copies (or PDF versions) of certain reports, if you have not already done so, such as a vendor check summary, income statement, etc.. for the period of time when you did do business with that vendor.
How to Remove a Vendor
- Look Up the Vendor.
- Click the Remove Vendor icon (folder with a red X through it) on the toolbar.
- A list of items that must first be removed is displayed.
- If each item has a green check mark you may click Remove and the vendor will be deleted.
- If any items have a red X those items must be removed first including:
Remove People who were on the Account
When you remove a vendor the Person Information (name, address, phone, etc.) for any Vendor Contacts (account representative, etc.) still exists in the database. If those people are no longer assigned to a vendor (or anywhere else in Procare) you may completely remove them using the Unassigned People utility.